About the Court

The Thirteenth Court of Appeals has jurisdiction over appellate matters within the twenty (20) counties that are shown on the map on this page. The court consists of six Justices hearing cases from these twenty counties. The Thirteenth Court of Appeals was created in 1963 by amendment to Article 1817, V.T.C.S., pursuant to authority granted by Article 5, Section 1, Texas Constitution. The Court is composed of a Chief Justice and five justices. This Court has intermediate appellate jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases appealed from lower courts; in civil cases where the judgment exceeds $100, exclusive of costs, and in criminal cases, except in post-conviction writs of habeas corpus and where the death penalty has been imposed. The Thirteenth Court of Appeals serves a twenty-county area and maintains offices in Corpus Christi and Edinburg.

Nora's Awards and Credentials

Justice Nora Longoria is licensed to practice in all Texas State Courts and is admitted to practice in the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas and the U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota, and has served as the following:

Stay Up to Date